Archived News Item

Handover to new leaders and council

In the December 2009 editions of Mercy M@tters we acknowledged the three most recent congregation chapters that were held: Perth, Ballarat East and Adelaide. In this edition, we share aspects of the ‘handover’ to the new leaders and their councils.

Download the words of welcome of Breda Reilly RSM (outgoing Congregation Leader) for the Handover Liturgy and Ritual held in Perth on January 21, 2010.

The Adelaide Sisters of Mercy recently gathered in thanksgiving for Meredith Evans RSM and the previous council (2004-2009) and to welcome Helen Owens RSM, the new leader and her council elected to take office from the beginning of 2010. This event was held at the Chapel of the Adelaide College of Divinity on January 30, and celebrated in the spirit of the chapter “Directions for now and the future”. Download a report by Tess Flaherty RSM (Adelaide).

The new leadership for the Ballarat East congregation is Veronica Lawson RSM (Congregation Leader, re-elected), Helen Forbes RSM (Vicar), Kathleen McGrath RSM (re-elected Councillor), Elizabeth Dowling RSM (Councillor) and Carmel Setford RSM (re-elected Councillor).

At the Extraordinary Chapter held on December 4, 2009, the Congregation of the Sisters of Mercy, Ballarat East voted in favour of petitioning the Holy See for permission to become part of the new canonical entity for the Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea.

The General Chapter 2009 established future directions for the Congregation as contained in the following documents: